My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up

#1 Bestseller Dymocks Older Readers Chart 

Top 10 Bestseller Bookscan Children’s Fiction Chart

Shortlisted for 2014 & 2015 YABBA & KOALA Children’s Choice Awards

 

‘Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this in their collection … 

What a great book.’

– Kids Book Review


 

‘Like Dahl, Bancks is passionate about inspiring a love of reading in the young by placing fun at the centre of his storytelling.’ – Andy Griffiths, Sydney Morning Herald

 

Delightful and funny. Bancks has beautifully captured the essence of boyhood. Tom is a typical 21st-century schoolboy, following in the fine tradition of Ginger Meggs.’

Good Reading Magazine

 

‘A serious dose of pant-wetting, cringe-worthy short stories 

and we love ’em!’

DMag

 

Synopsis (What’s It About?)

 

Have you ever been kissed by a dog? Ever had to eat Vegemite off your sister’s big toe? Have you had a job delivering teeth? Has a bloodthirsty magpie ever been out to get you? Ever woken up to discover that everything hovers? And have you eaten 67 hot dogs in ten minutes?

 

I have. I’m Tom Weekly. This book is full of my stories, jokes, cartoon characters, ideas for theme park rides and other stuff I’ve made up. It’s where I pour out whatever’s inside my head. It gets a bit weird sometimes but that’s how I roll. 

Watch the Book Trailer

 

 

 

 

Read a Free Sample of Short Story, The Dog Kisser

 

BUY THE BOOK

 


Buy a copy of My Life & Other Stuff I Made Up, signed by the author Tristan Bancks
 

 

 

 

 

Listen to ‘The Dog Kisser’, an Audio Short Story’

 

 

 

Reviews

Meet Tom Weekly

Find Out How the Book Was Created

 

Learn to draw My Life’s Tom Weekly in this 41-second masterclass with illustrator, Gus Gordon.

 

Download 3 Colouring-In Pages

 

       

 

 

Author Note From Tristan Bancks

All stories are part fact and part fiction. Even history is part fact and part fiction. Many of the stories in My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up sprang from things that have happened to me. I then supercharged those stories to make for a series of (hopefully) funny and surprising tales.

 

I grew up reading Paul Jennings books like Unreal, Unbelieveable and Quirky Tails. I loved these books. Nobody else, at the time, other than Roald Dahl, was writing surprising, funny, odd tales for children quite like these. I have used my love of those stories to inspire my own writing. As a kid I always jotted my ideas down in exercise books and notebooks. I didn’t know what I would do with them but I just had to get them down. 



I encourage all kids, in fact all humans, to get your ideas down – ideas for stories, movies, inventions, video games, jokes, cartoon characters and just general thoughts on life. You never know when they might come in handy. This book looks and feels a bit like one of my notepads as a kid, with pictures and weird, funny stories and things that would make me laugh. A book like this is a space for you to make their own, to come back to, and to feel safe to explore. As soon as you can write, get yourself a book like this where you can be bold and adventurous without needing to be ‘right’ or having to prove anything to anybody.

 

 

Illustrator note From Gus Gordon 

Tom Weekly reminded me very much of my 12-year-old self. It wasn’t too difficult a task to channel the random thoughts of that younger, fantastically naïve, enthusiastic, imaginative boy as it is pretty much how I am today. I still, like Tom, daydream about incredible situations and still have the propensity to think in a random, fractured manner, jumping from thought to thought with no real segue as if I am picking my thoughts out of a hat. Drawing for me was the most efficient way of communicating these unorganised ideas. Off-kilter illustrations and pointless list writing were a speciality of mine. I drew in every class, in every margin on everything and anything I had in front of me. This kind of fervour – the need to express myself through drawing – was how I approached the illustrations, or more specifically, how I saw Tom drawing them – a natural extension of his rambling imagination.


The subjects (awkward encounters, girls, gross bodily functions, eating) were also all too familiar to me. Whether it was a panicked list about an operation, escaping false teeth or a drawing of a floating poo, it all felt disturbingly normal. Obviously it was the same for Tom!

What Kids and Critics Are Saying:

‘These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled.’ – Oliver Phommavanh in Buzz Words Books

 

‘A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bancks’ latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor.’ – Booklist (US)

 

‘Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won’t be able to help yourself once you open this cover … Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection.’ – www.kids-bookreview.com

‘Tristan Bancks books are really funny and I love them! My favourite book that he made was My life and other stuff I made up. In fact I was at his writers workshop at Warrigal Road State school. I definitely recommend his books for everyone.’ – BJ, reader.


Check Out The Other Books in the Series

 http://www.randomhouse.com.au/authors/tristan-bancks.aspx

Follow:

16 Comments

  1. November 19, 2011 / 4:17 am

    love it you sure do great writings

  2. Anonymous
    September 3, 2012 / 6:26 am

    Hi Tristen, your cool 🙂

  3. Anonymous
    September 3, 2012 / 6:29 am

    Hi Tristen, you recently talked to my brother's class at school and from what I have heard from him, your a pretty cool cat. I have some ideas on books but, y'know, who cares right? So yeah, BYE.

  4. September 3, 2012 / 7:59 am

    Thanks! And you should write those ideas out of your head and into the world. Get 'em down in a notebook! You never know when they'll come in handy. Do it.

  5. Anonymous
    September 19, 2012 / 10:50 pm

    hi tristan we just read your book my life and other stuuf i made up in my class and it was one of the funniest books i have ever read.

  6. Anonymous
    September 19, 2012 / 10:52 pm

    your books are awesome

  7. September 21, 2012 / 1:55 am

    Thanks guys. You're too kind. Glad you loved 'My Life'. I'm about to write the second book. I better make it good. 😉 T

  8. Anonymous
    October 12, 2012 / 6:24 am

    Hi Tristan. I was part of the extension writing class at the school you just visited, and I have a suggestion of what you could do with the attack of the star-nosed moles idea for the second "my life and other stuff I made up". You could possibly have a giant floating star-nosed mole nose with no body. It could be the master of all the star-nosed moles attacking. The only problem is fitting it into a short story like youw ere talking about in extension writing.

    Thank you for visiting my school, you really helped my writing.

  9. April 8, 2013 / 10:54 am

    Hey, that is a really creepy idea… the floating star-nosed mole with no body. As if star-nosed moles aren't creepy enough as it is. But brilliant! Genius! I want to use it! Or you can. Or both. Thanks for writing. T.

  10. Brodie
    September 12, 2013 / 12:36 am

    hi tristian I love your books they are awesome and you also came to Jubilee today you are awesome

  11. Brodstar3
    September 12, 2013 / 12:38 am

    hi Tristan love your books. You came to jubilee today.

  12. Anonymous
    August 4, 2014 / 10:11 am

    Hey, I was at book week at Tannum Sands State School, my group did the hover poo thing.

  13. Anonymous
    March 10, 2015 / 6:25 am

    Hi Tristan,
    you came to my school this week and you were really good! I am looking forward to reading two wolves! keep up the good work!

  14. March 10, 2015 / 8:46 am

    Thanks Brodstar3, Brodie and the twin anonymouses. Really appreciate you leaving kind comments. Hope you enjoy Two Wolves, Latest Anonymous. 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *