EVENTS

Online and In-Person Talks & Workshops

NEW: Young Writers’ StorySchool is my brand new online video writing masterclass program for students aged 9-14. It is 24 x 3-4-minute videos to supercharge the writing process in the classroom with comprehensive teachers’ notes. Like having an author in the classroom all year round. See the trailer above and the first video lesson at www.youngwritersstoryschool.com.

Alongside StorySchool, I’m now delivering many of my live school talks via Zoom, WebEx, Teams, Meet and also as streamable hour-long videos for flexible individual or small-group viewing in school or at home. The videos are high-energy with all the images, video, music, maps, readings, humour and anecdotes of my in-person talks. Lots of inspiration to read and create. They’re tailored to each school and I answer 10 questions from the school’s students at the end. See a two-minute sample video below.

I’m also doing a limited number of in-person school visits in 2022, bookable through my speaking agents below. They also have details re: pricing and so on.

Speakers’ Agency Contacts

QLD

To check my availability for Queensland-based school and library talks you can email Sandie at Speakers Ink. My Speakers Ink page is here.

ALL OTHER STATES

For information and availability on visits in all other Australian states school and library talks, just email Booked Out or see my Booked Out page here.

INTERNATIONAL
For information and availability on international school and library talks and workshops, here’s the best email address.

Tristan-Bancks-AUTHOR-TALK-OPTIONS-_TB_2021

PUBLIC TALKS & WORKSHOPS 2022

One of the most enjoyable parts of my job is speaking about storytelling and creativity. I run workshops and talks about my books at festivals, conferences and schools in Australia and around the world, hopefully inspiring kids, teens and adults to read and create.

There are lots of festivals and events locked in for 2022 that will hopefully go ahead later in the year! In the meantime, lots of online visits coming up.

January

Tweed Regional Gallery ArtMaker Workshop

February

TBA

March

TBA

April

TBA

May

TBA

June

LittleScribe Mini-Writing Festival

Melbourne – One week schools tour for release of new novel Cop & Robber. Book via Booked Out.

Sydney – One week schools tour for release of new novel Cop & Robber. Book via Booked Out.

July

5 July – NEW BOOK! Cop & Robber (for readers of Two Wolves, The Fall and Detention released.

August

Book Month in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

Festival TBA

September

TBA

October

Adelaide events – Once Upon a Festival

 

Feedback From Schools (I promise I didn’t write these myself. 😉

I wanted to say thank you for your assistance in organising our online guest speaker session with Tristan Bancks at Mount Beauty Secondary College. His session was brilliant – all teaching staff and Year 7 students involved were very thankful and really found his session extremely worthwhile. Tristan relates in such an engaging and energetic manner with the students due to his relatable nature with adolescents, his array of visuals and movie clips, along with his experiences as a published author and animator/movie maker. I had many Year 7 students tell me how impressed they were, and how much better the session was compared to their expectations. It was certainly inspiring for them, and the English teaching staff involved with the session found Tristan’s authorial experiences really worthwhile in discovering other creative writing activities and strategies. Please find attached an article published in our local newspaper, The Alpine Observer, recounting our great experience. – Anthony Brewergray, Mt Beauty Secondary College

 

Tristan was marvellous and the kids loved him working with them. His presentation to our entire Year 7 cohort was interesting, funny and informative. After this session, the conversation amongst the students related to reading, getting hold of Tristan’s books etc and this was perfect as we were just launching our Term 3 Reading Challenge.

His Writers Bootcamp over two lessons was brilliant. The students’ responded very positively and his sneak peak of Chapter 1 of his new novel had all of us ready to queue up for this book when it’s finally published.

Feedback was most positive and I’d not hesitate to book Tristan again. Students particularly liked how Tristan utilised technology in the stages of his writing.

It was truly a great experience seeing Tristan work with the kids. All positives and no regrets.

– Bray Park State High School


I thought Tristan was fantastic. If I was a kid I would want to read all of his books. He really appealed to kids in a contemporary manner, talking about electronic devices and how he uses them to help his writing. I thought that his idea of writing and taking pictures outdoors to develop character and setting could be easily transferred to the our writing lessons.

—A. Barnett, Teacher Librarian, Mentone Grammar

The English department teachers, Deputy Principal and students involved were extremely impressed with Tristan Bancks and his author session. He was energetic and engaging with young adolescents and very creative and humorous in his approach to writing. The use of interactive media with video and sound was outstanding and catered to a range of learners particularly the male students. We were pleased that Tristan’s passion for writing was passed onto our students and assisted in their assessment task. Tristan also provided excellent resources for students and teachers to use in the classroom and was very willing to assist teachers with further resources and materials from his website. After the session we immediately purchased class sets of two of his novels for our Year 7 and 9 English students for next semester.

– Merrimac State High School

Wow, such an excellent example of how a Virtual session can be engaging – everyone loved it. I want to read your books now. You were clear and your presentation was such a high quality. I even had tears in my eyes at your ability to engage kids in the reading and writing and what that can mean in a broader sense. Just brilliant.

– Caroline Clarke, Regional Virtual Learning Coach, North-Eastern Victoria Region

We had a fabulous visit with Tristan. I knew he would be good and I was not disappointed. One thing that particularly impressed me was how he was able to tailor his address to each group – he didn’t just repeat the same material. He was very engaging and the feedback from staff and students has been extremely positive.

– Saint Stephen’s College

Tristan was fantastic. The boys loved listening to and working with him. Teachers also gained new ideas to use with the boys. The handouts Tristan emailed for teachers were very well received. The boys were so inspired we sold $800 worth of Tristan’s books! Was very worthwhile.

– The Southport School

Tristan was amazing!

The feedback from students and teachers was overwhelming – everyone loved his sessions. He kept the students enthralled and has inspired them to read and to write.

He is extremely personable, interesting and funny – I can’t wait to have him back here again!

– Sheldon College

Just a quick note to say thank you so much for being our third Writer in Residence. Your enthusiasm, professionalism, and generosity were remarkable, and are much appreciated. I was particularly impressed by the ease with which you worked with a wide variety of participants, from preschoolers to professors.

Dr Elizabeth Hale, Senior Lecturer in English & Writing, University of New England

Close Me
Looking for Something?
Search:
Post Categories: