‘This book is 100% gluten free, 100% fat free, 100% organic and 35% fact free. It has no added sugar and contains absolutely NO NUTRITIONAL BENEFITS AT ALL! May contain traces of NUTS!’ 

– Raph Atkins, kid author, llama enthusiast

 

‘This book of funny, ridiculous and really pretty disgusting short stories 

is sure to make you laugh out loud.’ 

Kate, Lamont Books

My Life & Other Massive Mistakes (March 2015, Random House Australia) is my third book of semi-autobiographical, weird-funny-gross adventures starring Tom Weekly and illustrated by the one and only Gusto Gordon.

BUY THE BOOK


  Buy a copy of My Life & Other Massive Mistakes, signed by the author Tristan Bancks

SYNOPSIS
Have you ever helped your pop escape from a nursing home? Does your teacher have a problem with his bowels? Have you ever mined your teeth for cash? Is there a girl or boy at school who will stop at nothing to kiss you? And do you know someone with the worst case of nits in world history?
I do. I’m Tom Weekly and this is the third book in my life story.
The stories were written during my six-month European / SE Asian family travel adventure late last year and early this year.




WATCH THE BOOK TRAILER


READ A FREE SAMPLE OF SHORT STORY, NITPLAN 

Mad Cat by Gus Gordon

Thanks for the enormous support of My Life and Two Wolves over the past year. I’m super-blessed to be part of an extraordinary network of people who care about reading, storytelling and creativity. And HUGE thanks to reader Ruby Barker who came up with a name for the book in blog comments in my Search for a Title. Ruby has received a signed set of all three My Life books.

Nit Plague by Gus Gordon.


For updates, you can:
Sign up for my monthly / very occasional Children’s Book eNews!
Subscribe to this blog via RSS.

Or connect on:
Twitter
Instagram
Youtube
Facebook

With the same kind of hilarity, groan-making grossness, ridiculous situations and craziness [as the Andy Griffiths and Jeff Kinney laugh-out-louds], boys in particular will revel in these books from Tristan Bancks.’

– Sue Warren – Oz Teacher-Librarian Network


  


‘Top Book Gift for Kids’ The Book Chook


‘I was reminded of Paul Jennings’ short stories… The stories start off plausible but by the end have stretched into (very funny) tall tales. Recommended for upper primary / lower secondary students, public libraries and reluctant readers everywhere.‘ – Magpies Magazine



Synopsis (What’s it About?)

Is your grandpa super-angry? Has your Nan ever tried to climb Mt Everest? Have you started your own playground freak show? And have you ever risked your life to save your pet rat from certain destruction?



I have. I’m Tom Weekly and this is my life. Inside the covers of this book you’ll read lots of weird-funny-gross stories and learn the secret of my strangest body part. But I guarantee that won’t freak you out as much as the story of how Stella Holling, a girl who’s been in love with me since second grade, tricked me into kissing her.


BUY THE BOOK


  Buy a copy of On The Run, signed by the author Tristan Bancks



I tried to make a 2-minute video about the book with a bunch of rotten kids. It was kind of a disaster…






Read a Free Sample of Short Story, Freak!


MEET TOM WEEKLY






”If you’re a fan of Andy Griffiths and Jeff Kinney, My Life and Other Stuff That Went Wrong is the book that has been missing in your life.’ – The Little Bookroom, Melbourne






Learn to draw My Life’s Tom Weekly in this 41-second masterclass with illustrator, Gus Gordon


Download My Life Colouring-In Pages

       



What kids and critics are saying:

Here’s what reviewers said about the first Tom Weekly book, My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up


‘These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled.’ – Oliver Phommavanh in Buzz Words Books 


‘A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bancks’ latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor.’ – Booklist 


‘Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won’t be able to help yourself once you open this cover … Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection.’ – www.kids-bookreview.com







[BIG thanks to all the kids who have offered ideas as the stories and covers have developed and to the brilliant Gus Gordon, Zoe Walton, Brandon VanOver, Catriona Murdie, Sophie Hamley and Astred Hicks, whose story smarts, design skills, illustration and editing have brought the book to life.]





CHECK OUT THE OTHER Three BOOKS IN THE SERIES


  




#1 Bestseller Dymocks Older Readers Chart 

Top 10 Bestseller Bookscan Children’s Fiction Chart

Shortlisted for 2014 & 2015 YABBA & KOALA Children’s Choice Awards


‘Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this in their collection … 

What a great book.’

– Kids Book Review


‘Like Dahl, Bancks is passionate about inspiring a love of reading in the young by placing fun at the centre of his storytelling.’ – Andy Griffiths, Sydney Morning Herald

Delightful and funny. Bancks has beautifully captured the essence of boyhood. Tom is a typical 21st-century schoolboy, following in the fine tradition of Ginger Meggs.’

Good Reading Magazine



‘A serious dose of pant-wetting, cringe-worthy short stories 

and we love ’em!’

DMag

Synopsis (What’s It About?)


Have you ever been kissed by a dog? Ever had to eat Vegemite off your sister’s big toe? Have you had a job delivering teeth? Has a bloodthirsty magpie ever been out to get you? Ever woken up to discover that everything hovers? And have you eaten 67 hot dogs in ten minutes?


I have. I’m Tom Weekly. This book is full of my stories, jokes, cartoon characters, ideas for theme park rides and other stuff I’ve made up. It’s where I pour out whatever’s inside my head. It gets a bit weird sometimes but that’s how I roll. 


Watch the Book Trailer


Read a Free Sample of Short Story, The Dog Kisser






BUY THE BOOK


Buy a copy of My Life & Other Stuff I Made Up, signed by the author Tristan Bancks


Listen to ‘The Dog Kisser’, an Audio Short Story’




    

Reviews

Meet Tom Weekly

Find Out How the Book Was Created






Learn to draw My Life’s Tom Weekly in this 41-second masterclass with illustrator, Gus Gordon.





Download 3 Colouring-In Pages


       



Author Note From Tristan Bancks

All stories are part fact and part fiction. Even history is part fact and part fiction. Many of the stories in My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up sprang from things that have happened to me. I then supercharged those stories to make for a series of (hopefully) funny and surprising tales. 


I grew up reading Paul Jennings books like Unreal, Unbelieveable and Quirky Tails. I loved these books. Nobody else, at the time, other than Roald Dahl, was writing surprising, funny, odd tales for children quite like these. I have used my love of those stories to inspire my own writing. As a kid I always jotted my ideas down in exercise books and notebooks. I didn’t know what I would do with them but I just had to get them down. 



I encourage all kids, in fact all humans, to get your ideas down – ideas for stories, movies, inventions, video games, jokes, cartoon characters and just general thoughts on life. You never know when they might come in handy. This book looks and feels a bit like one of my notepads as a kid, with pictures and weird, funny stories and things that would make me laugh. A book like this is a space for you to make their own, to come back to, and to feel safe to explore. As soon as you can write, get yourself a book like this where you can be bold and adventurous without needing to be ‘right’ or having to prove anything to anybody.



Illustrator note From Gus Gordon 

Tom Weekly reminded me very much of my 12-year-old self. It wasn’t too difficult a task to channel the random thoughts of that younger, fantastically naïve, enthusiastic, imaginative boy as it is pretty much how I am today. I still, like Tom, daydream about incredible situations and still have the propensity to think in a random, fractured manner, jumping from thought to thought with no real segue as if I am picking my thoughts out of a hat. Drawing for me was the most efficient way of communicating these unorganised ideas. Off-kilter illustrations and pointless list writing were a speciality of mine. I drew in every class, in every margin on everything and anything I had in front of me. This kind of fervour – the need to express myself through drawing – was how I approached the illustrations, or more specifically, how I saw Tom drawing them – a natural extension of his rambling imagination.


The subjects (awkward encounters, girls, gross bodily functions, eating) were also all too familiar to me. Whether it was a panicked list about an operation, escaping false teeth or a drawing of a floating poo, it all felt disturbingly normal. Obviously it was the same for Tom!

What Kids and Critics Are Saying:

‘These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled.’ – Oliver Phommavanh in Buzz Words Books 


‘A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bancks’ latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor.’ – Booklist (US)


‘Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won’t be able to help yourself once you open this cover … Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection.’ – www.kids-bookreview.com


‘Tristan Bancks books are really funny and I love them! My favourite book that he made was My life and other stuff I made up. In fact I was at his writers workshop at Warrigal Road State school. I definitely recommend his books for everyone.’ – BJ, reader.



Check Out The Other Books in the Series 

 http://www.randomhouse.com.au/authors/tristan-bancks.aspx